Educational Resources-Zooplankton

This section is designed to aid the teachers in fulfilling the following AHSGE Standards and Objectives requirements.

  • Standard: I-1
  • Standard: II-1
  • Standard: III-3
  • Standard: VI-1


  • Zooplankton are animal plankton
  • Holoplankton spend there entire life floating in the open ocean (pelagic zone)
  • Meroplankton are the eggs and larvae form of organisms found in the coastal waters. (neritic zone)
  • These zooplanktons are in transition stage and as they develop, they move on into the benthos or nekton zone

Sizes of Zooplankton:

size of zooplankton

  • Picoplankton – (0.2→2 µm) includes small eukaryotic protists, bacteria, Chrysophyta
  • Nanoplankton – (2→20 µm) includes small eukaryotic protists, Small Diatoms, Small Flagellates
  • Microplankton – (20→200 µm) includes large eukaryotic protists; most phytoplankton, Protozoa ciliates,
  • Mesoplankton – (0.2→2 mm) metazoans; e.g. copepods, Medusae, Ostracoda, Pteropods; Tunicata; Heteropoda
  • Macroplankton – (2→20 mm) includes copepods and amphipods
  • Megaplankton – (> 20 mm) includes metazoans; e.g. jellyfish


Proceed to Resources

Introduction | Phytoplankton | Zooplankton | Resources